Skip to content

Eating Baby Mice – “San Zhi Er” aka Three Screams

February 28, 2011

Traveling around Southeast Asia, I have definitely seen a lot of strange dishes. The other night, while having a couple of beers at a dirty bar, I heard a particularly brutal dish. This is called the “San Zhi Er”; the literal translation in Chinese is Three Screams.

Doesn't that look tasty???

This dish consists of eating newly born baby mice; they are so fresh that they are still blind and are hairless. The reasons why it’s called the Three Screams is because the baby mice would scream once when they are picked up with chopsticks. Its second scream comes when they are dipped in the sauce and seasoning. The final scream would occur when they would be put in the eaters mouth.

I try to maintain a “Try Everything” policy on my travels, but this dish may require an update to the policy. Only time will tell.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2011 11:35 am

    that dish could have been the one that got you your own cable tv show!

    • Hiroki permalink*
      April 12, 2011 9:58 am

      Well, if I have to eat this in order to get a cable TV show, then let’s go! Step aside Andrew Zimmerman! I guess it’s all part of the adventure.

  2. Vildenis permalink
    September 3, 2012 1:23 pm

    Don’t be astonished to meow after digestion …

  3. Jeff permalink
    October 28, 2012 10:23 pm

    Some of my Asian (chink) coworkers eat penis of various animals looks gross.

    They also microwave fish at work. It stinks that entire office. What an embarrassment when an important Client came. We almost lost the account.

  4. david n permalink
    December 18, 2012 4:21 pm

    Facinating, bizarre!! I’m very interested that they don’t need to be gutted, for older mice this is essential if you plan on living, I’ve read. I guess there are no harmful bacteria in the gut yet?? It does turn a minus (a pest) into a plus & not cooking saves feul!

  5. Julie permalink
    September 12, 2013 7:36 am

    I remember my boss telling me about this after he visited China once. It turned my stomach then – I couldn’t ever eat anything that is alive let alone screaming.

Trackbacks

  1. Top 3 “Oh Shit, I’m in China Moments” « E X P L O R E
  2. Have You Ever Thought About Eating a Live Donkey? « E X P L O R E
  3. » Blog Archive » EGP- Episode 34: “Three Screams w/ Elvine”
  4. Ne mange pas de cette chair! | ELISHEAN

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 174 other followers

