Skip to content

Ceviche 105

March 4, 2010

Made out of Ice!

Ceviche 105 (105 Northeast 3rd Avenue, Miami, FL 33132) recently had a private re-grand opening party a couple of days ago that I was invited to. I’ve been here before and I always thought the space was too small and the ceviche was so-so. I went to have lunch a couple of days later, since my girlfriend really wanted to go.

Now with the new expansion, one can eat without rubbing elbows with other people. If I remember correctly, they expanded their menu as well. We started off with the Stuffed Potatoes with Prawns and Avocado. It is a potato dish with prawns and avocado sandwiched between them with their yellow sauce (I don’t know what that is. Someone tell me.) This is one of my favorite dishes, the potatoes, the sauce and the prawns complement each other very well. Highly recommended.

We also ordered the Seafood Orgy, a ceviche of fish, octopus, shrimp marinated with Tiger’s Milk. When I had this before, I disliked it very much due to the rubbery texture of their fish. They improved on something with the fish, and I really like this as well now.

We ordered the Chicken Aji as well. This is a classic Peruvian dish consisting of chicken covered in pepper cream, and milk, topped with cheese. This is the first time I’ve tried their Chicken Aji, and I definitely recommend it.

Overall, if you are around the downtown area and in need of lunch, I would suggest you to stop here.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2010 2:14 am

    Chicken Aji? LOL WTF? Did they actually call it chicken aji? That sounds completely bizarre coming from a Peruvian Restaurant.

    Aji de Gallina is one of my all-time favs.

    • Hiroki permalink*
      March 9, 2010 8:41 am

      I was looking at it myself and thought it was strange, but everyone was ordering it.

  2. Nancy permalink
    March 21, 2011 12:56 pm

    I was a semi fan of Ceviche 105 until recently. Their food is okay, nothing out of this world but close to my home. The atmosphere is loud and even after expanding, the tables are almost right next to each other (no privacy). I love cooking Peruvian food, My husband and his family being Peruvian, hired someone to teach me to cook Peruvian plates. I just love Peruvian food. My biggest disappointment came in when I applied for a position at Ceviche 105 and the lady who gave me the application asked me directly if I was Peruvian. I replied: No. She said to me, they only hire Peruvians. How racist was her comment apart from it being against the law. Maybe if they would have given me a chance, they would have seen I cook Peruvian food very well instead of judging people. I’m sure she threw my application away. I know (apart from being classically trained) I was more than capable for that position. I know they won’t be getting my business again.

    • Hiroki permalink*
      March 22, 2011 5:58 am

      Wow,

      I’m sorry you had such a terrible experience with Ceviche 105. For a restaurant that is supposed to be one of the best in Miami, that is such awful etiquette on their part.

      I think your post is very important to other readers as it is a recent review of what seems to be a once-wonderful place.

      Thanks for reading

      H

Leave a Reply

