Skip to content

Sarussi

March 24, 2010

Man vs. Food came down to Miami during Super Bowl week. Adam Richman went to Sarussi (10600 SW 8th St, Miami,

Do you see the glaze from the garlic butter?

FL 33174) as one of his destinations. On my way back from the FIU area (don’t ask me why I was there), I saw this sandwich shop on the corner of the street. So thinking that it was fate; I took a quick detour to check the place out.

When I walked in, not surprisingly enough, no one spoke English. (No surprise, we are in Miami.) That did not deter me at all, as they were still very courteous and friendly.

The sandwiches come in 8’ ($5-6) or 16’ ($10-11) . I ordered the Sarussi Original, which is basically a Cuban sandwich with their special sauce. At first, I thought the red bottle was ketchup. The lady making it asked me if I wanted salsa. I was a little confused, she just looked at me, smiled, and told me in Spanish that I would like it. The best part came next; she took a paint brush and painted on garlic butter on top of the bread. (DO YOU UNDERSTAND!?!?! GARLIC BUTTER PAINTED ON A SANDWICH!!!) A powerful, controversial move, in a health conscious world; it absolutely made the sandwich one of the best sandwiches I have ever had.

My only issue I had with the place was that the sandwiches were all pre made. Once the order is placed, the sandwich is pulled out from a fridge below and thrown in the pizza oven to be toasted.

Otherwise, if the place was much closer, I’d go there a lot more.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Dino permalink
    March 24, 2010 5:29 pm

    I grew up eating at this place but the one on 8th street and 68th ave. They are still fresh regardless when they prepare them. I’m going this weekend!

    • Hiroki permalink*
      March 25, 2010 9:15 am

      Awesome, I’d like to go back today!

  2. Jess permalink
    December 30, 2010 3:20 pm

    I was visiting my family in Miami this week, and I had a Sarussi sandwich for the first time in years. I agree about the garlic butter on top. You can lick your fingertips after each bite and OMG it’s pure heaven.

    • Hiroki permalink*
      January 2, 2011 9:40 pm

      I’ve been away from the area for a while. Your comment on the garlic butter has gotten me to salivate!

Leave a Reply

