Skip to content

Rickshaw Run 2009: Recap

April 23, 2010

It’s been a little over 6 months since the Rickshaw Run. I never had the chance to really tell my side of the story and I was trying to figure out the best way. Below is a copy of what my partner in crime, Ruben, wrote in our Team America Blog. My notes will be obnoxiously bolded white.

Before the race I had no idea finding a proper internet connection would be so difficult. In the least, I was hoping to tweet my way through via phone. I didn’t get a chance at a phone neither. (Finding any sort of internet was surprisingly tough.)

Because of this slight miscalculation most of my updates ended up being bunched together and at one point I tried to summarize what we’d been going through during those internet less days. Hence the somewhat erratic update timeline (side notes are italicized) (My notes are a little more erratic, it was 6 months ago and I was pretty fucked up):

Took jetlag 2 the face, broke rickshaw 3 times.almost killed group of small children & the RUN dont start for another hour. (I broke the rickshaw 3 times. Hiroki kept reminding me of this throughout the trip.) (It’s true, Ruben broke the rickshaw 3 times. I don’t think he added the part where he almost flipped the rickshaw onto a group of innocent bystanders after the bull/cow charged at our rickshaw.)

Leaving Colva, Goa in about an hour. It looks like we’re heading east with a bunch of folks, then north toward Jaipur. Holler! (I’m not sure anyone really knew where they were going.)

Alive by just a hair. tearin it up through india on the Rickshaw. in Indore. Agra in 2 days. changing name 2 indiana jones after coppin whip. (This was actually on day 5, first time since Colva that we were able to go online.)

Day 1: Goa-Belgaum 120km. H: drives thru dealthly hillside excuse for road. me: night time city driving. Note to self: drive on Left. (To which @Rak35h replied: “left, right, center…does it really matter?? J” -Had no idea he was so right!) (Ended up with the ‘other Team America’ Shawn and Marcus. Somehow we made it to Belgaum. We drove through a beautiful and mountainous yet treacherous trail, where we soon discovered what we really were in for. We got stuck behind a couple of trucks because one fell into a small ravine and had to use another truck to pull it out. Soon discovered night driving in the city (in Belgaum) was too intense for our American hearts and scary as fuck. )

Took a detour to Jaipur then took a day off. Feels so good!!! Heading to Agra tomorrow.

In Agra. Taj Mahal tomorrow morning. 5:30am #rickshawrun (Things REALLY went downhill from here. By now we just wanted to get the hell out of India.)

Btw India is HOT.AS.HELL #rickshawrun

Day 2:Belgaum-Pune: highlight=Mcdeez. downhill from there. would not eat 4 26 hrs. rickshaw hijackd. almost beat down on indian hustlers. (After this, we regularly pulled 12-15 hour breaks without any food. Would not recommend it.) (We parted ways with the other Team America as they went east. We met a nice English-Brazilian couple, Tim the Ginger and Vanessa right before we left Belgaum. Our adventures would start here and would not end until we got to Nepal. Roads were a hundred times better than Day 1. Indian McDonald’s = Big Maharajah Mac (A chicken Big Mac with curry sauce). We went a little crazy going 60km/hour on the rickshaws (They can only go like 50 km/hour MAX). Tim blew his pistons. After getting help from couple of mechanics, they pulled his rickshaw with our rickshaw for 60 km to fix the rickshaw and reach Pune.)

Day 3:Pune-Ellora caves: amazing. that’s all. (Some Indiana Jones isht) #rickshawrun (Amazing!!!) (Needed a break after the crazy ordeal, changed plans and went to Ellora caves. On the way to Aurangabad, Ruben sideswiped a bus; my knee almost got caught there. That was a great choice. Amazing, amazing, amazing. Vanessa and I took a picture with a huge group of Indian people. I was being harassed by touters in Japanese and English here. We met Dawn and her boyfriend (both from the UK) here. They just got in from Kochin)

Day 4: Ellora-Dhule:straight up driving. battery down drove w/o battery/lights/horn (like driving w\o right arm). #rickshawrun (You are truly helpless and defenseless without a car rickshaw horn in India.) (Battery acid was dripping out of our rickshaw. No horn so we would scream at incoming traffic. We also had no clue where we were going.)

Day 5:Dhule-Indore:250km. highlight:bought used battery for 150Rps. Paid mech 90 2 install. (First major repair on the Rickshaw. The other one would be the required tune-up. The mechanic was a real O.G.) (Straight G, first place we had actual internet. Also, discovered that if we made a wrong turn, we can just go down the wrong way. )

Day 6:Indore-Jhalawar:rocky road. 300Rp @ Hotel Purvaj. 300 for dinner/no menu = best meal evar!!! #rickshawrun (One of the best nights days of the trip.) (We were sitting on top of a roof, smoking a cigar, drinking alcohol, in a hotel which used to be an old British fort.)

Day 7:Jhalawar-Jaipur:prairies turned 2 desert. Tune up=250Rp. from 500Rps. Haggling=key. night driving = scariest shit evar. (We haggled for everything after this. Mainly out of integrity.) (I soon discovered cows eat everything. A cow came up to me and I fed it my newspaper I picked up in America a week ago. One must haggle, even if we can afford it.)

Day 8:Jaipur. took day off & toured Jaipur=goodness. runing outta camera batteries = fail. everyone thinks I’m Indian by now #rickshawrun. (One of the coolest spots we hit and the one with the least pics.) (I scared Tim and Vanessa because some kid pinched me while asking for money. We were able to do laundry here for the first time. My driving pants went from brown to black by now, my rickshaw run shirt is not pink anymore. We stayed here 2 days)

Day 9: long boring drive, until Taj Gangj=craziness. lotsa beers=help=happiness. havnt showered in 2 days. =) #rickshawrun. (Wouldn’t shower till the next morning but I blame Agra, easily the most polluted city I‘ve ever been to in my short life.) (Saw the insides of a butcher’s, it was terrible, definitely happy that I became a vegetarian through out this trip. Realized the Footprint’s book was the worst guide at that point. Rooftop dinner with the view of the Taj. Stayed at a hotel with a view of the Taj. Block party which ended once we got there as the electricity was lost. Woke up at 5am to go check out the Taj. Definitely was way too hungover to be there and passed out next to the Taj.)

Days 10 & 11, which didn’t have any updates, would’ve gone like this:

Day10:Agra-Locknow: 430 kms longest most boring drive ever. Too many hours without food+night city driving=almost killed each other. (Hotel Ellora in Locknow is the sucks. Almost punched hotel clerk.)

Day11: Locknow-Sunauli: stopped by a cop. out 50rps ea. Note to self: don’t stop for cops. Air finally breathable around the border. (We got stopped twice. The second time they decided to waive us through w/o a bribe.) (Remember, we ate at a small Chinese restaurant, with Indian couples that were all shadily hooking up with each other. Later realized that they were all hiding as it is not the norm to do that.)

Day 12: We made it!!! in Pokhara. #rickshawrun (I wish I could say that everyone had been as lucky.) (Nepal is beautiful. The people are nice. I cannot wait to go back there.)

The #rickshawrun officially over. no more rickshaw. party tonight. Pokhara is awesome!

Hmm… so where do I start? how do I explain this #rickshawrun to run to anyone?

Would I do it again? Most definitely.

(There was so much more that happened on this trip. I wish I had a video camera for all the crazy shit we went through.)

<!–[if !mso]> <! st1\:*{behavior:url(#ieooui) } –>

It’s been a little over 6 months since the Rickshaw Run. I never had the chance to really tell my side of the story and I was trying to figure out the best way. Below is a copy of what my partner in crime, R, wrote in our Team America Blog. My notes will be in blue.

Before the race I had no idea finding a proper internet connection would be so difficult. In the least, I was hoping to tweet my way through via phone. I didn’t get a chance at a phone neither. (Finding any sort of internet was surprisingly tough.)

Because of this slight miscalculation most of my updates ended up being bunched together and at one point I tried to summarize what we’d been going through during those internet less days. Hence the somewhat erratic update timeline (side notes are italicized) (My notes are a little more erratic, it was 6 months ago and I was pretty fucked up):

Took jetlag 2 the face, broke rickshaw 3 times.almost killed group of small children & the RUN dont start for another hour. (I broke the rickshaw 3 times. Hiroki kept reminding me of this throughout the trip.) (It’s true, Ruben broke the rickshaw 3 times. I don’t think he added the part where he almost flipped the rickshaw onto a group of innocent bystanders after the bull/cow charged at our rickshaw.)

Leaving Colva, Goa in about an hour. It looks like we’re heading east with a bunch of folks, then north toward Jaipur. Holler! (I’m not sure anyone really knew where they were going.)

Alive by just a hair. tearin it up through india on the Rickshaw. in Indore. Agra in 2 days. changing name 2 indiana jones after coppin whip. (This was actually on day 5, first time since Colva that we were able to go online.)

Day 1: Goa-Belgaum 120km. H: drives thru dealthly hillside excuse for road. me: night time city driving. Note to self: drive on Left. (To which @Rak35h replied: “left, right, center…does it really matter?? J” -Had no idea he was so right!) (Ended up with the ‘other Team America’ Shawn and Marcus. Somehow we made it to Belgaum. We drove through a beautiful and mountainous yet treacherous trail, where we soon discovered what we really were in for. We got stuck behind a couple of trucks because one fell into a small ravine and had to use another truck to pull it out. Soon discovered night driving in the city (in Belgaum) was too intense for our American hearts and scary as fuck. )

Took a detour to Jaipur then took a day off. Feels so good!!! Heading to Agra tomorrow.

In Agra. Taj Mahal tomorrow morning. 5:30am #rickshawrun (Things REALLY went downhill from here. By now we just wanted to get the hell out of India.)

Btw India is HOT.AS.HELL #rickshawrun

Day 2:Belgaum-Pune: highlight=Mcdeez. downhill from there. would not eat 4 26 hrs. rickshaw hijackd. almost beat down on indian hustlers. (After this, we regularly pulled 12-15 hour breaks without any food. Would not recommend it.) (We parted ways with the other Team America as they went east. We met a nice English-Brazilian couple, Tim the Ginger and Vanessa right before we left Belgaum. Our adventures would start here and would not end until we got to Nepal. Roads were a hundred times better than Day 1. Indian McDonald’s = Big Maharajah Mac (A chicken Big Mac with curry sauce). We went a little crazy going 60km/hour on the rickshaws (They can only go like 50 km/hour MAX). Tim blew his pistons. After getting help from couple of mechanics, they pulled his rickshaw with our rickshaw for 60 km to fix the rickshaw and reach Pune.)

Day 3:Pune-Ellora caves: amazing. that’s all. (Some Indiana Jones isht) #rickshawrun (Amazing!!!) (Needed a break after the crazy ordeal, changed plans and went to Ellora caves. On the way to Aurangabad, Ruben sideswiped a bus; my knee almost got caught there. That was a great choice. Amazing, amazing, amazing. Vanessa and I took a picture with a huge group of Indian people. I was being harassed by touters in Japanese and English here. We met Dawn and her boyfriend (both from the UK) here. They just got in from Kochin)

Day 4: Ellora-Dhule:straight up driving. battery down drove w/o battery/lights/horn (like driving w\o right arm). #rickshawrun (You are truly helpless and defenseless without a car rickshaw horn in India.) (Battery acid was dripping out of our car. No horn so we would scream at incoming traffic. We also had no clue where we were going.)

Day 5:Dhule-Indore:250km. highlight:bought used battery for 150Rps. Paid mech 90 2 install. (First major repair on the Rickshaw. The other one would be the required tune-up. The mechanic was a real O.G.) (Straight G, first place we had actual internet. Also, discovered that if we made a wrong turn, we can just go down the wrong way. )

Day 6:Indore-Jhalawar:rocky road. 300Rp @ Hotel Purvaj. 300 for dinner/no menu = best meal evar!!! #rickshawrun (One of the best nights days of the trip.) (We were sitting on top of a roof, smoking a cigar, drinking alcohol, in a hotel which used to be an old British fort.)

Day 7:Jhalawar-Jaipur:prairies turned 2 desert. Tune up=250Rp. from 500Rps. Haggling=key. night driving = scariest shit evar. (We haggled for everything after this. Mainly out of integrity.) (I soon discovered cows eat everything. A cow came up to me and I fed it my newspaper I picked up in America a week ago. One must haggle, even if we can afford it.)

Day 8:Jaipur. took day off & toured Jaipur=goodness. runing outta camera batteries = fail. everyone thinks I’m Indian by now #rickshawrun. (One of the coolest spots we hit and the one with the least pics.) (I scared Tim and Vanessa because some kid pinched me while asking for money. We were able to do laundry here for the first time. My driving pants went from brown to black by now, my rickshaw run shirt is not pink anymore. We stayed here 2 days)

Day 9: long boring drive, until Taj Gangj=craziness. lotsa beers=help=happiness. havnt showered in 2 days. =) #rickshawrun. (Wouldn’t shower till the next morning but I blame Agra, easily the most polluted city I‘ve ever been to in my short life.) (Saw the insides of a butcher’s, it was terrible, definitely happy that I became a vegetarian through out this trip. Realized the Footprint’s book was the worst guide at that point. Rooftop dinner with the view of the Taj. Stayed at a hotel with a view of the Taj. Block party which ended once we got there as the electricity was lost. Woke up at 5am to go check out the Taj. Definitely was way too hungover to be there and passed out next to the Taj.)

Days 10 & 11, which didn’t have any updates, would’ve gone like this:

Day10:Agra-Locknow: 430 kms longest most boring drive ever. Too many hours without food+night city driving=almost killed each other. (Hotel Ellora in Locknow is the sucks. Almost punched hotel clerk.)

Day11: Locknow-Sunauli: stopped by a cop. out 50rps ea. Note to self: don’t stop for cops. Air finally breathable around the border. (We got stopped twice. The second time they decided to waive us through w/o a bribe.) (Remember, we ate at a small Chinese restaurant, with Indian couples that were all shadily hooking up with each other. Later realized that they were all hiding as it is not the norm to do that.)

Day 12: We made it!!! in Pokhara. #rickshawrun (I wish I could say that everyone had been as lucky.) (Nepal is beautiful. The people are nice. I cannot wait to go back there.)

The #rickshawrun officially over. no more rickshaw. party tonight. Pokhara is awesome!

Hmm… so where do I start? how do I explain this #rickshawrun to run to anyone?

(There was so much more that happened on this trip. I wish I had a video camera for all the crazy shit we went through.)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2010 4:47 am

    A few notes on your notes (& mine):

    Day 2 of The Run is easily the worst day I’ve had since. I’m glad we got that type of nastiness outta the way so early on the trip. Everything’s been relatively smooth sailing since that little episode.

    I’ve yet to meet anyone as gangster as that old mechanic that helped us replace our battery.

    Day 6 was one of the best nights ever and also the night we had the best food on the whole trip, IMO. I had a very difficult time getting a feel for Indian food while in India and that night was a huge exception. I’m happy to say that my feelings toward Indian food have changed drastically after my time in Laos and Malaysia (and Thailand as well, but not as much as the other two).

    Day 7 is where I almost overturned the rickshaw and almost killed a group of bystanders while trying not to get killed by a raging water buffalo that suddenly decided to charge at us at close proximity.

    Day 8, you failed to mention that Tim and Vanessa freaked out because you pretended that you were gonna punch the kid so he’d get off you and they saw you raise your fist but hadn’t seen the kid pinch you. I, on the other hand saw the whole thing and all I can say is OUCH!!!

    Day 9 was the second best night of the trip & I think showering had something to do with it. Still was so much fun but maybe too much beer. (Btw, I thought it was The Rough Guide that sucked major cojones, not the Footprint. Maybe it was both?)

    This is where I messed up. We got stopped by the cops on Day 10 (second worst day of the trip but not nearly as bad as Day 2). Day 11 was a breeze in every sense of the word.

    I think we should have gone trekking while we were in Pokhara. Interested in getting together at some point and running around the Annapurna range? I really wanna go back to Nepal.

    Holla,
    R.

    p.s. I don’t think I’d do this over again. Mongol Rally on the other hand? Sign me up!

  2. Hiroki permalink*
    May 9, 2010 7:16 am

    R, Thanks for the input. Maybe we should have done this via Google Wave.

    Haha

Trackbacks

  1. rickshaw run 2009 recap: now with more hiroki « en vivo y en directo…
  2. rickshaw run ’09: the movie « en vivo y en directo…
  3. Rickshaw Run « E X P L O R E

Leave a Reply

