Skip to content

Versailles Restaurant and Bakery

December 10, 2010

I am back in Miami for a long weekend. I thought about doing a throwback and writing a restaurant review. Believe it or not, for the three years that I have lived in Miami, I never visited the local famous Versailles Restaurant and Bakery (3555 SW 8th St, Miami, FL 33135). So on this ever-raining day (which rarely happens in Miami), I visited the establishment.

I got two scrambled eggs and two croquettes (dos huevos revueltos con dos con croquetas). I miss these Latin breakfasts; it came with a café con leche (coffee with evaporated milk) and toast (which essentially is toasted Cuban bread with a ginormous amount of butter).

The atmosphere is very intense. The setting is very loud and lively. My waiter only speaks Spanish; the people around me speak gossip in Spanish while drinking the powerful cortaditos (Latin espresso with milk).

It’s the usual, Latin, Miami environment. This is something that I will always take with me from the ever-growing Pan-Latin city.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

