Skip to content

Current Thoughts After Traveling for a Year

July 19, 2011

So it’s been a little more than a year since I left the so called real world. For those of you who do not know,  (in terms of western standards), I had a very good paying job, owned an apartment in South Beach, drove a nice car, and did very well…superficially. I ended up liquefying all my assets and have been on the road ever since. Have I lost some of my luxuries? Yes, absolutely.  Do I regret leaving the life? No, absolutely not.  In my opinion, there are some experiences that cannot be felt with the grip of one’s job.

On the other hand, I do believe I am missing other experiences as well. I have missed important events of many of my family and friends (graduations, weddings and children). My professional career has come to a halt. Through emails, Facebook updates and such, I have kept up with everyone’s lives. Frankly, sometimes, it feels as everyone is moving on and well, I’m still traveling and acting like a child.  I have sacrificed many things, however in the end, if you asked me if would I do it again? I’d do it in a heartbeat.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

