Skip to content

Thoughts on My Trip and America

August 1, 2011

Ok, so I just got back to the USA last week after 13 months of being away. For those of you who have just started following my blog, I used to be pharmacist and took some time off to follow my dream of traveling, adventuring, and exploring.

So, what are my initial thoughts on being back? I have to admit, it was nice to see a heterogeneous group of people. It’s pleasant to hear different types of languages breeze by you while standing in one place. It’s wonderful to not receive the “what the hell” face when you speak English without an Asian accent.

I’ve had many people ask me what my favorite places/experiences were. My answer to that is, nothing is the same anywhere just like no one is ever the same. Your experiences and my experiences will really never be the same. But before I get more philosophical, I don’t have an exact favorite place or experience. I’ve drank beer with the locals in Germany, had sushi in Japan, had Pyongyang Noodles in Pyongyang, ate the strangest things in China, rode a camel in Tunisia, and many more. I think those experiences were awesome and I would do all of them again even if it hurt.

So now what? Now, I’m still trying to figure out if I should continue the adventure by going back to China and studying for 2 years or getting a job as a pharmacist. I don’t know what I should do. If you read it, help me out!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2011 11:21 am

    Just happened upon your blog… What did you want to study if you were going back to China? Honestly, I don’t think pharmacy profession would have changed much during your travel times — probably be the same harrowing experience, everyday. Once needs to afford a living though (unless you have a family trust fund) — so perhaps you’re low on funds. Maybe work per-diem and than hit the trails again.

    • Hiroki permalink*
      October 13, 2011 11:58 pm

      Now that I am in China, I am currently studying International Development with a concentration in Healthcare. I hope that it gives me more of an international opportunity.

      You are absolutely right though, I can always work per-diem and then get back on the road.

      Thanks for reading.

      H

Leave a Reply

