Skip to content

My Travel Inspirations

August 15, 2011

Many people ask me why I do what I do. Why did I quit my job to travel? Besides the simple answer that I really like to travel and explore, I was tired of my previous life. It was too easy; there were no challenges in my life. I also felt that it was the right time to make a move like this, as I do not have other responsibilities.

I also read a lot of books and watch a lot of media. I was sick and tired of reading about these experiences that people went through. I wanted to go through them myself. For example, I wanted to scuba dive in Thailand, smell the different spices of India, and get plastered with other Germans at Oktoberfest.

I was also sick of “vacationing.” I didn’t want to go see some place for a week then head back to my job. It was exhausting and I felt like I wasn’t seeing anything. Sitting at a café in the middle of Milan, relaxing and drinking coffee doesn’t seem like something to do when you have a week to see the country, however, when you are doing long term traveling, you start to appreciate the small things the locals do.

I guess I’ll leave you guys to a nice quote I know from the Beach, “So never refuse an invitation, never resist the unfamiliar, never fail to be polite and never outstay the welcome. Just keep your mind open and suck in the experience. And if it hurts, you know what? It’s probably worth it.“

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

