Skip to content

How I Keep Traveling…

August 23, 2011

Having been back in the US and then telling people that I am heading out again, I have had them ask me certain questions. The question asked most is how am I able to travel for so long? The simple answer to that is through savings. The longer answer to that is, I travel places using miles. When I get to a location, I always use public transportation. In addition, I save money by staying at the dormitories, through friends, and if fortunate, through cultural exchange programs such as couchsurfing.

Random things I see during my travels...at the real Monkey Island, Vietnam

Remember, I don’t have rent or mortgage, I don’t have a lease or car payments, I don’t even have a phone bill anymore. I pick up what I need during my travels. I’ll change it up once in a while. I may fly on miles, but I may splurge on a really nice meal. So in a way, I’ve sacrificed the nice amenities of living at home and in return, have been able to extend my money.

I’m sure there are other ways in order to travel for long periods of time. It’d be great if you leave some ideas under the comments page.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2011 5:26 am

    Free camping, couchsurfing.org and hitchhiking is a way to go🙂 You can also extend your stay at interesting places working for accommodation and free meals. (helpx.net)

    • Hiroki permalink*
      September 7, 2011 9:54 am

      Absolutely, free camping and hitchhiking is definitely another way to go. Haven’t had the chance to camp or the courage to hitchhike though! Thanks for your input!

  2. October 11, 2011 11:23 am

    Foray onwards.

Leave a Reply

