Skip to content

Back to the Beijing Part 3

September 23, 2012

It’s my first week back in Beijing. Although there has been a 6-month hiatus in writing this blog, a good Indian Guido friend of mine, Dip, encouraged me to jump-start this old thing. So before I start writing, I want to throw some shout outs. I had the privilege to meet up with my high school and pharmacy friends during my short week. Some of them drove up to 2 hours to meet with me and I really appreciate it. It really reminded me of how much I miss the US. Anyway, if you guys are reading this, thanks for everything…and keeping gripping and ripping, and grindin’ and ridin’. I also want to thank my family as well. It was great to go through our usual family tradition of incredible food and incredible Seinfeld-like arguments.

So shit! After literally 5 movies (by the way, the Avengers…amazing movie!), some weird beef with rice meal, a hot dog, and a cup of Haagen-Dazs ice cream (I was starving the whole time!), I am back in Beijing! I’ve made a couple of changes that I can see has already made life more convenient. The biggest significant change is moving to Dongzhimen. I have access to all the western amenities Beijing can offer. Though, they are still lacking on good HEARTY American bacon.

Beijing is so much better with a bicycle…I’m not talking about some piece of shit, ghetto-ass, bicycle, but an actual road bike, where as you ride it, one friend puts it, “there is no more Hiroki or a bike, but you are fused into one.” The bike brings more access to things and is ten times quicker than walking. Surprisingly, as backwards as Beijing and China can be, the concept of riding a bike is generations ahead.

Hopefully, in the next couple of months, I’ll be able to produce better writings. I foresee more posts about where to go/eat/drink in Beijing, what to see, and random crazy/crappy experiences living in China.

“Only put off until tomorrow what you are willing to die having left undone.” Pablo Picasso

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

