Skip to content

Feb Vegan Challenge

January 31, 2013

So back to this again. Like I said in my last post, it has been a pretty crazy. It’s been like a K-Town episode everyday of my life for the last two weeks. It all culminated with me seeing a trend of self-destruction out of boredom and autopilot in life, while dealing with uninteresting and mind-numbing things like papers and thesis. Therefore, what can be done about this? Sitting around and sulking is a waste of time. So I asked my roommate, what’s a great idea? See on New Year Eve, after 2+ years, he broke his monk like vows of never eating meat and ate fish. Through my roommate’s action, I thought of a challenge.

Good bye...for a month!!!

Good bye…for a month!!!

Starting February 1st to the 28th, I will become a vegan. That’s right folks, so for those of you know anything about me, I am a meat eater…I am the meat eater that eats the T Rex type of meat eater. I am one of those people that are not satisfied with a meal if there is no meat! So I’m putting away my meat eating mouth and replacing it with a vegan mouth. I’m going to defriend the dude from Epic Meal Time and become friends with monks. So no more dairy, no more meat (I fucking love steak), and no more fish (…no more sushi…words cannot describe my thoughts about this) Living in Beijing does not make this any easier, because most of the restaurants love to use chicken powder, (すいません, それも禁止です!) which means my social life of eating may become a bit of a challenge. I also hate being one of those people that asks for all of these custom orders…I mean seriously, you want to do that go to Burger King or something.

So before February 1st comes around, there are a couple of things I will have to do. I will take a before and after picture, and take my weight, my arm, leg, and waist size. I wanted to get a proper health checkup to see what my CBCs, cholesterol, testosterone, etc. Unfortunately, I could not find a proper place in Beijing that provides this type of service. Beijing SOS, which I consider a very good hospital, charges approximately 3000 RMB (~USD$481) per check… which I think is very ridiculous. (Unless the Vegan Society would like to endorse me…***hint, hint***) Throughout this process, I will attempt to post a blog at least once every 3 or 4 days.

Finally, for the fun part, is the penalty. We have two ideas that are in the air. A 2 minute match (aka beating) from a Jeet Kune Do master, which will be taped and put up on YouTube and Youku for your viewing pleasure or a donation of $500 to an anti-charity, to be named in the near future. If you have any other punishment ideas (you sick people), they are welcome in the comment section!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. son mi permalink
    January 31, 2013 5:20 pm

    Careful! When I was in the 7th grade my brother bet me I couldn’t be a vegetarian for a week. That’s all it took to change me to the point I stopped eating meat 10 years!

    • Hiroki permalink*
      January 31, 2013 6:10 pm

      Hahaha! I don’t know about that for me! I love sushi way too much for that, but we’ll see in a month! Great to hear from you!!!

Leave a Reply

